2016-07-27 Arches National Park

Although I woke up a little later than I wanted to, I managed to make it to Arches National Park in time for sunrise – 6:14 AM. As I entered the park, it was bathed in a pre-dawn glow. On this trip, I have seen the Grand Canyon, Horseshoe Bend, and other wonders. I am not sure whether it was the light on this particular day, the fact that I was still a little groggy, the physical proximity to the immense features, or the difference between my expectations and the reality of the experience, but I was more moved today than I have been at the other parks.

There are words like incredible, awesome, stunning, breath-taking, but none of them seem adequate to express the feelings evoked in that short drive.

Today my goal was to take pictures at dawn from the North Window Arch. When I arrived there, I discovered that many people had the same idea. Here are the people waiting for dawn.DSC_0186

Here is what they saw.DSC_0184

Looking to the west, from the same vantage point, one sees early-light on Turret Arch.DSC_0194

Later in the morning, Turret Arch basked under the full illumination of the sun. This image was taken from  a vantage point a little closer to Turret Arch.DSC_0275

Here is an image of Balanced Rock and Tower of Babel observed on the way out of the park.DSC_0293DSC_0300

Tomorrow I will return to Arches on my journey to Grand Junction, CO. Here is un-edited time-lapse of dawn light on Turret Arch. This will not only give you an idea of the varying illumination but also of the people present at dawn. Perhaps spring would be a better time to visit for two reasons. First dawn is later in the day, and second, there are fewer people around.

4 thoughts on “2016-07-27 Arches National Park

  1. Arches has always been my favorite National Park. Miracle Arch is, without doubt, the most amazing natural structure that I ever experience. You’ve had a truly awesome Road Trip across the USA. Carl

    Like

  2. Frank, This is fantastic! You have inspired me to plan a trip of my own!! I am sure you are having a wonderful time checking out all of that gorgeous scenery!
    Happy trails,
    Melinda Locke

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment